Congratulatory Wordings for 2nd S. Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics
On behalf of the Programme Committee of the 2016 EPS conference on plasma physics, I would like to congratulate Prof. P.Kaw (IPR, India) for being awarded the 2nd S. Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics, assigned by AAPPS-DPP. We are grateful to Prof. Kaw for his outstanding work in plasma physics and for his key role in bringing India into the international fusion program.
Paola Mantica Chair of 2016 EPS Conference on Plasma Physics on behalf of the full Programme Committee
My Heartfelt congratulations to Prof P.K.Kaw for bestowing this honour by DPP-AAPS. with best regards
Prof.M.P.Srivastava
Professor Kaw is a distinguished scientist who devoted his entire life for promotion of plasma science and nuclear fusion in India. He is responsible for discovery of intermittent plasma transport, and reported it in 1992 when the plasma transport was considered worldwide as steady oozing of particles from the plasma boundary. Wishing you many more accolades in future, sir
Dr. Ratneshwar Jha
It is a great pleasure indeed for me to write this congratulatory note to Professor Predhiman Kaw for his receipt of the 2015 Subramanyan Chandrasekhar Prize, which is a most well deserved recognition of his many significant contributions to plasma physics including laser-plasma interaction and strongly-coupled dusty plasmas. I personally met him at Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory in 1969-70 when I worked at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, and was much inspired by his brilliance and frontier spirit. I would greatly appreciate your kindly conveying this note to Professor Kaw.
Sincerely yours,
Setsuo Ichimaru Professor Emeritus of Physics. The University of Tokyo

I am pleased to hear that Professor Predhiman Kaw is selected as the second Chandrasekhar Prize winner. He is an outstanding theoretical physicisit and I have had an honor to work with him on several plasma physics problems including laser plasma physics, plasma solitons, dusty plasmas in magnetic field, etc.

He visited us twice in Hiroshima as a JSPS visiting scientist and I have had exciting times with him discussing various plasma physics problems.

I hope he will continue his research activities and contribute to further progress in plasma physics.

5 - 5					
Professo	or Emeritus,	Hiroshima Univ	ersity, Japan		

As Chair, and on behalf of the American Physical Society Division of Plasma Physics, I congratulate Prof. Predhiman Kaw (IPR, India) on his selection as the second Laureate of the S. Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics. He is extremely deserving of this award, having made seminal contributions in numerous plasma physics areas. On a personal note, I can still remember the wonderful insights he provided while teaching a graduate student class at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory.

Please let me know if you need anything further.

David D. Meyerhofer Physics Division Leader Los Alamos National Laboratory

Kvoii Nishikawa

.....

On behalf of the Board of the EPS Plasma Physics Division, I'm very pleased to congratulate Prof. Predhiman K. Kaw, from the Institute of Plasma Research, for the 2nd Subramanyan Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics awarded by the AAPPS Plasma Physics Division. His contributions have a seminal impact on many fields, ranging from laser-plasma interaction to dusty plasma physics or tokamak turbulence.

Sylvie Jacquemot
Chair of the EPS Plasma Physics Division

I would like to congratulate you for receiving this prestigious prize.

Best Regards Arvind Agarwal

IPR





Prof. Predhiman Krishan KAW DST Year of Science Professor Institute for Plasma Research, Bhat, Gandhinagar – 382 428 Gujarat, INDIA

St-Paul-lez-Durance, 15 January 2016

Reference: DG/2016/OUT/0037 (SHFHRM)

Subject: Subramanyan Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics

Dear Prof Kaw,

china

japan

korea

russia

usa

I learned with great pleasure today of the award of the 2015 Subramanyan Chandrasekhar Prize to you by the Division of Plasma Physics of the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies. I would like to offer you my sincere personal congratulations on this award, but I am sure that I also speak for all the researchers and staff of the ITER project in reflecting on how richly merited this award is.

Those of us within the ITER community who have worked with you over many years in the pursuit of fusion energy have appreciated not only your deep insight into plasma physics issues, but also your tireless enthusiasm for the achievement of our common goal. The citation for the award, "For his seminal contributions in the areas of laser-plasma interactions, strongly coupled dusty plasmas, and turbulence, nonlinear effects in magnetic fusion devices", properly reflects both your fundamental contributions to the research on magnetically confined plasmas which are at the heart of magnetic fusion energy development and your wide-ranging contributions to the understanding of complex physics behavior in many areas of plasma research. Over a long and productive career, you have greatly enriched our understanding of physics processes in very different types of plasma with important implications for applications in many areas of modern plasma research.

I would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the importance of your work in mentoring several generations of plasma physics researchers and your particular contribution to the ITER project. Your leadership and support for India's participation in ITER were fundamental to its founding membership of the ITER Organization. All of us within the ITER community therefore take great pleasure in this award to someone who has been so closely identified with the ITER project over so many years.

I remember very well my visit to IPR in 2003 where we met for the first time, and while the SST-1 was still under construction. I was really impressed by your vision and dedication to make great progress in fusion experiments in the coming years. I am delighted to see that 12 years later you have received full recognition for your exceptional achievement.

Yours sincerely,

Director-General

ITER Organization



cc: Prof T S Hahm, Chair, 2015 Subramanyan Chandrasekhar Prize Committee Prof M Kikuchi, Chair AAPPS-DPP