Education: B.Sc.: St. Xavier's College (1966), Ph.D.: University of Tennesse (1970) Employment: Post Doctoral work at ORNL (1970 -1971), Fellow, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, India (1971-1977), Visiting Scientist, Res. Lab. of Electronics, M.I.T. (1976-1978), Associate Professor (1977-1982)/Professor (1982-1986), Physical Research Laboratory, India. Professor (1986-1988), Senior Professor & Dean (1988-2003), Senior Professor—I & Dean (2003-2005), Raman Professor & Dean (2005-2011)

Research Areas: Basic plasma physics and nonlinear dynamics including reconnection physics, microinstabilities in laboratory and space plasmas, intense laser plasma interactions, collective phenomena in dusty plasmas, plasma turbulence and coupled oscillator systems. Tokamak plasma stability using MHD and resistive MHD. **Awards and Honors**: INSA Young Scientist Award (1976); Fellow of IAS, INSA, NAS (India), APS; Vice-President, IUPAP, Governing Council (2002-2005). Chair, ITPA MHD-TG (2008-2011). ITER STAC Member, ITER Council Member (2010-2012). Chair, ITPA-CC (2013-).