Won Namkung

Basic Information

Pohang Accelerator Laboratory (PAL), POSTECH

International Thermonuclear Experiment Reactor (ITER)

Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP)

Tel: (O) +82-54-279-1006, (M) +82-10-4523-2066, (F) +82-54-279-0999

E-mail: namkung@postech.ac.kr

Education

B.S. Physics, Seoul National University (1965)

Ph.D. Physics, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN (1977)

Employment

2009-present: Executive Advisor, Pohang Accelerator Laboratory; Professor Emeritus, Physics, POSTECH

Chairman, International Thermonuclear Experiment Reactor (ITER) Council (2016-2017)

Chairman, Board of Trustees and President, Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (2016-2017)

1988 - 2009: **Professor**, Department of Physics and Pohang Accelerator Laboratory:

Dean, the Graduate School (2003-2005); **Director**, Pohang Accelerator Laboratory (1996-1998);

Head, Department of Physics (1995-1996); Linac Div. Head, Deputy-Director, PLS (1988-1996)

1984 - 1988: Research Physicist, Research Department, Naval Surface Warfare Center, White Oak, MD

1978 - 1984: Assistant Professor (1980-1984), Research Associate (1978-1980),

Electrical Engineering Department, University of Maryland, College Park, MD

1971 - 1978: Research Associate (1977-1978); Research Assistant (1974-1977); Graduate Assistant (1971-1974),

Department of Physics, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN and Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL),

Fusion Energy Division (1974-1978).

1965 - 1969: Officer, Korea Air Force

Academic Activities

1990 - 2018: Korea Accelerator and Plasma Research Association (KAPRA), Board member, <i>President</i> (2003-2012)
--

1995 - 2018: National Fusion Research Committee (1995-2005, 2010-2018), ITER-Korea Committee, *Chair* (2005-2007)

2000 - 2002: Asian Committee for Future Accelerators (ACFA), *Chairman*

International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA), Member 2000 - 2002:

2000 - 2002: International Linear Accelerator Conference, *Chairman* (2002)

2001 - 2004: Asian Particle Accelerator Conference 2004 (APAC), *Chairman* (2004)

2001 - 2004: Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS), *President, Council member* (1998-2010)

2002 - 2008: Asian Linear Collider Steering Committee (ALCSC), Chairman

2002 - 2008: International Linear Collider Steering Committee (ILCSC), Member

Proton Engineering Frontier Project Committee, *Chairman* (2005-2008) 2002 - 2008:

2002 - 2018: Asia Plasma and Fusion Association (APFA), *Chair* (2002-2005)

2003 - 2016: Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP), Board of Trustees, Chairman (2010-2013, 2016-)

2009: International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER), Management Assessor (2009)

2011 - 2014: Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS) Bulletin, Editor-in-Chief

2012 - 2018: Institute of Basic Science (IBS), Science Advisory Board (SAB), Member

2016: International Particle Accelerator Conference (IPAC'16), Chairman

Honors: 1994: The Order of Civil Merit (Camellia Medal)

