# The 2<sup>nd</sup> announcement of the 8th Asia-Pacific Transport Working Group (APTWG) International Conference

June 12 to June 15, 2018, Leshan, China

Conference website: http://aptwg2018.swip.ac.cn/

The 8th Asia-Pacific Transport Working Group (APTWG) International Conference will be held from June 12 to June 15, 2018 at the Leshan campus of Southwestern Institute of Physics (SWIP), Leshan city, Sichuan Province, China.

#### 1. Introduction

## 1.1 Purpose of the Meeting

The goal of the Asia-Pacific Transport Working Group (APTWG) meeting is to work together on understanding of the basic mechanisms responsible for particle, momentum and heat transports in magnetically confined plasmas, and ultimately, predicting and even controlling of the transport processes. It is important to characterize the specific features of the turbulence and transport phenomena, such as non-linearity, non-locality and non-diffusivity, and their correlations with the spatial and temporal features of fluctuations in core and edge regions and coupling between them. The studies on the characteristics of the turbulence and MHD activity are essential for understanding the formation and termination of both internal and edge transport barriers in the magnetically confined plasma. It is also crucial to understand the competition between variety of turbulences and coupling between turbulence and MHD activity induced by energetic particles in space and time domains. The 3D effects of magnetic topology, such as resonant magnetic perturbation, on turbulence and MHD activity, which are important and common in toroidal plasmas, will also be emphasized in this meeting. Great efforts have to be paid to continuous collaboration among theory, simulation and experiment on the way to gain prediction ability.

\* The conference will be held under the auspices of Leshan campus of SWIP

## 1.2 Working groups of the Conference

In order to realize the purpose described above and keep continuity, five topical foci were identified for the working groups. These are:

- A, Edge/SOL turbulence and L-H/H-L transition,
- B, Core-edge turbulence coupling, and transport in high beta plasmas,
- C, Transport and turbulence in 3D magnetic topology,
- D, Interaction between energetic particles, MHD instabilities and turbulence,
- E, Model reduction and experiments for validation.

Each working group topic includes theory, simulation and experiment, with the ultimate goal of validation of theory, simulations and models against experiment. In addition, diagnostic needs and novel diagnostic ideas for corresponding area are also covered in each working group.

# 1.3 Conference structure

The 8th APTWG international conference will consist of:

- i. Plenary Sessions: Special talks
- ii. Working Group Sessions (A,B,C,D, E)
- iii. Young Research Forum
- iv. Poster Sessions
- v. Summary Session

## 2. Registration

We encourage colleagues interested in participating in this conference to register as soon as possible, following the instructions given in the conference website: http://aptwg2018.swip.ac.cn/

# **On-Site Registration Hours**

Academic conference center Monday, June 11, 14:30 - 20:00 PM, Lecture hall in Library Tuesday, June 12, 8:30 - 9:00 AM

#### **Registration Fees**

1800 CNY for participants 1000 CNY for students 1000 CNY for companions
Only cash (CNY, on-site only) is accepted

## 3. Important Dates

January 20, 2018,	Website open
April 25, 2018,	Abstract submission deadline
April 30, 2018,	Visa application deadline
April 30, 2018,	Website registration & hotel reservation deadline

#### 4. Program

The program is under construction.

# 5. Committees

#### **Advisory Committee**

Mitsuru Kikuchi (QST)

Baonian Wan (ASIPP)

Xuru Duan (SWIP)

Liu Chen (IFTS/UCI)

Keeman Kim (NFRI)

Yasuhiko Takeiri (NIFS)

# **Program Committee**

Jiaqi Dong (SWIP), Chair jiaqi@swip.ac.cn
Zhongbing Shi (SWIP), Co-chair shizb@swip.ac.cn
Xiang Gao (ASIPP) xgao@ipp.ac.cn
Taik S. Hahm (SNU) tshahm@snu.ac.kr
Si Woo Yoon (NFRI) swyoon@nfri.re.kr
Woo Chang Lee (NFRI) wclee@nfri.re.kr

Shigeru Inagaki (RIAM, Kyushu Univ.) inagaki@riam.kyushu-u.ac.jp Tomo-Hiko Watanabe (Nagoya Univ.) watanabe.tomohiko@nagoya-u.jp

Katsumi Ida (NIFS) ida@nifs.ac.jp

Patrick H. Diamond (UCSD) diamondph@gmail.com

## **Local Organization Committee**

Zhongbing Shi (SWIP), Chair

Wulyu Zhong (SWIP), Co-chair

Wei Chen & WIP)

Lan Chang (SWIP Leshan campus)

Xianli Hıang & WIP)

Shaodong Song & WIP)

Guoyao Zheng(SWIP)

shizb@swip.ac.cn

zhongwl@swip.ac.cn

chenw@swip.ac.cn

chlemail@126.com

huangxl@swip.ac.cn

songshd@swip.ac.cn

zgy@swip.ac.cn

Contact information: Please contact <a href="mailto:aptwg2018@swip.ac.cn">aptwg2018@swip.ac.cn</a> for further information.