Dear AAPPS DPP members

I am pleased to announce **2017 S. Chandrasekhar Prize of plasma physics** will be given jointly to **Prof. Chio Zong Cheng** (National Cheng Kung University) and **Prof. Lou-Chuang Lee** (Academia Sinica) based on recommendation from following 2017 S. Chandrasekhar Prize selection committee.

Chair:	Professor Abhijit Sen (Institute for Plasma Research)
Members:	Professor Yasushi Ono (The University of Tokyo),
	Professor Hideo Sugama (National Institute of Fusion Science),
	Professor Liu Chen (Zhejiang University),
	Professor Yutong Li (Institute of Physics, CAS),
	Professor Chan-He Nam (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology),
	Professor Dong-Hun Lee (Kyung Hee University),
	Professor Robert Dewar (Australian National University),
	Professor Don Melrose (University of Sydney),
	Professor Ravindra Kumar (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research),
	Professor Lin I (National Central University),
	Professor Kwo Ray Chu (National Taiwan University)
Sponsorship:	The 2017 prize is co-sponsored by HEFEI KEJUGAO Technology CO. LTD (合

Sponsorship: The 2017 prize is co-sponsored by HEFEI KEJUGAO Technology CO. LTD (合肥 科聚高技术有限责任公司)

Prof. C.Z. Cheng worked at Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory in USA (1975-2005) and made theoretical discovery of the plasma instability driven by energetic particles called the TAE mode (Cheng, Chen, Chance 1985; Cheng, Chance 1986) that will be an important for the mission achievement in ITER. Then, he developed a numerical code NOVA-K (Cheng 1992; Cheng, Chance 1987) which has been widely used to study TAEs in tokamaks such as TFTR (USA) and JT-60U (Japan). He also made original contribution to simulation scheme of the Vlasov simulations (Cheng, Knorr, 1976). He developed the kinetic ballooning instability theory as substorm onset mechanism (Cheng, Lui 1998). His publications received over 10, 300 citations in Google Scholar (H-index 54) and over 6900 citations in Web of Science (WoS) (H-index 45), with 10 articles having more than 100 WoS citations.

Prof. L.C. Lee is one of the pioneers in space plasma physics. He developed a strong scintillation theory for the scattering of radio waves by turbulent plasma observed in radio astronomy (Lee, Jokipii I, II 1975) and also predicted Kolmogorov spectrum for

the interstellar medium. He developed a landmark theory of auroral kilometric radiation (AKR) known as the cyclotron maser theory of AKR (Wu, Lee 1979; Lee, Wu

1980). He also identified key energy transfer process from the solar

wind to the magnetosphere through magnetopause (Lee, Kan 1979; Kan, Lee 1979) and explained the intermittent magnetic reconnection called the flux transfer event (FTE) by a multiple X line reconnection (MXR) process (Lee, Fu, 1985). His publications have received over 10, 600 citations in Google Scholar (H-index 56) and over 7700 citations in WoS (H-index 45), with 14 articles having more than 100 WoS citations.

They will give Chandrasekhar Lectures after Prof. X.T. He (Host first plenary) at "Kaw memorial (plenary) session" after the opening ceremony in forthcoming 1st Asia-Pacific Conference on Plasma Physics.

We will put press release on DPP web soon. Sincerely yours, **M. Kikuchi, AAPPS-DPP chair**

Dr. M. Kikuchi Chairman, AAPPS-DPP Chairman, Reviews of Modern Plasma Physics (http://www.springer.com/physics/atomic,+molecular,+optical+%26+plasma+physics/journal/41614)

Guest Professor, Osaka Univ., Japan Visiting professor, Southwestern Institute of Physics, China Visiting professor, Modern Physics Institute, Fudan University, China QST(National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology), Japan Tel: 81-29-270-7294 Fax: 81-29-270-7462 e-mail: kikuchi.mitsuru@qst.go.jp 311-0193, Muko-yama 801-1, Naka-city, Ibaraki, Japan